Musician taking up bass

Mike M

• Members

Hello all,

I am a professional musician (woodwind player; jazz saxophonist, currently playing clarinet in an orchestra) that teaches music at a local University.  I know my theory (both traditional and jazz).

As school/gigs in my area have shut down for the next two months due to the current pandemic I have taken this time to wood-shed on my primary instruments - which feels great.  Since I am not a TV-watcher I have decided to start playing my daughter's electric bass (which she played in HS) to keep from going crazy.

I figured out how to play some one octave major scales but as someone who gives lessons on my primary instruments, I am afraid that I may not be using proper fingering....

Are there any basic fingering patterns that I should be using?  If I am going to take the time to play this instrument, I'd like to do it right.

btw: I can play a bass part to "Girl From Ipanema" as the root/5th thing is easy...

Reading (notation/chords) is not an issue.  Technique is my concern.

Any help would be appreciated as I do not want to develop any bad habits.

Mike

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This might help... it's a chart with a two-octave major scale - the scale itself being dependent on which fret you start on. Are you familiar with the note names for the four strings? The lowest string, when played open is an E, F is played at the first fret, and it goes up chromatically from there. The second thickest string is an A, then a D and the highest is a G. IOW, it's tuned in fourths. 

105323.image0.jpg

Source

I basically try to stick with a one finger / fret approach, but sometimes you're going to need to slide from one position to another, as the diagram shows with the "arrows." 

23 hours ago, Mike M said:

Thanks Phil,

The chart/instructions are a big help.

I actually know the strings...