How to find music you like.

1001gear

• Members

I’ve been relying on college radio stations to find something new. They have a very eclectic mix that I listen to while driving. Drawback is that when I hear something I like I need to remember the time and track it down on their playlist 

• Members

most of the music I listen to is the stuff I write and record.  I was a huge audiophile growing up and still have several thousand LP, s Cassettes and CD's I bought over the years.  They were my library for learning how to be a musician. I even have the scratches in those old LP's memorized from having lifted and dropping the needle so many times to learn parts. 

Along with that I used to drive for a living so I'd listen to music 8~10 hors a day in the car driving from one job to the next.  When I jam with other people they are mystified how I can memorize and play most of a song after only hearing it one time. They think its some kind of gift.  They don't see the lifetime of ear training It took to be able to do that. 

I guess all those years of listening eventually turned around and started working in the opposite direction.  For the past 30 years I write more then I listen to other peoples music and have gotten far away from mimicking other peoples music.  If all that listening did have an influence on my writing its well masked at this point. I can mimic other artists at will but I rarely will to do so any more.  Its too much like playing cover tunes which I also got bored silly playing in cover bands.  I lost count of how many cover tunes I learned to play and become quite bored listening to many of them too.  Playing those songs live does that to you.  Simply listing has less emotional appeal compared to playing them live and getting a response back.