My biggest show as of yet...........

• Members

Yesterday I did an outdoor festival. I've been moonlighting with a prosound company for a few months.

The stage was a trailer type, brand new, beautiful sucker.

The rig was 2 double 18 cabs per side with two tops. Tops had 2, 12" EVs and a horn. I was told they were manufactured by a deceased company called Blue Chip. Old boxes but rock solid. The 18"s were reloaded with Kilomax drivers. The subs were run at 2 ohms off Crest amps, close to 5000 watts per side. I'm not sure what the tops were running at.

Onstage we had 6 monitors on 4 mixes. We provided full backline.

A 32 channel Allen and Heath board was in the field under a tent.

I rigged the 100 feeder out to the stage from an outbuilding and did all the distro. Then I wired the stage as the other guys were setting and wiring the speakers. Flawless start up and sound check. The boss says, "John, I gotta go to another job, you're on your own". He leaves me with a helper.

My mission, put up 11 bands in 5 hours.

Considering the smaller rigs that I own, this was a rush to be behind all this power. We had country, metal, reggae and even a mens accapella group. Ah yes, the Jimmy Buffet tribute too.

WHAT DID I LEARN.

1) Almost every guy with a big stupid pedal board has issues and wants to blame the SR people for his dead batteries and bad cables..

2) People with the most expensive toys usually do not know how to get tone and sound like {censored}. One of the best sounding bands, the guy was using a VOX solid state amp with a ten inch speaker and he wooped ass over dudes with $3k rigs. I learned that if the amp tone is so bad, us SR people cannot fix it from the board and have to just turn it way down.

3) Those metal stages are tricky to work with as far as monitoring is concerned. There is nothing to dampen the sound waves and feedback is something that just seems to happen at weird times. I did good with controlling this, perfect no, good yes.