WRGKMC

Trigger Finger

I developed a bad case of Trigger finger recently.  Combination of typing all day on the day job then playing too much guitar.  I work up one morning and couldn't straighten my pointer finger which really freaked me out.  A little exercise and it eventually started working again and thought it was OK.  Then each night for 3 weeks its done the same thing. 

I tried a few things like putting it in a cardboard splint at night.  That prevented it from locking up but it didn't help heal it much. Tried icing it down too and only temporary relief. I've been playing guitar for 55 years now and I'm not ready to give it up.  I normally play several hours each night and much more on the weekends.  I guess the 8 hour days are what injured it. 

So the next step was a hand doctor.  What I'm told the tendon feeds through some hollow cartilage much like a line on a fishing pole feeds through eyelets.  The tendon was swollen and binds on these eyelets.  He gave me a shot of steroids yesterday in the palm of my hand darn near to the bone.  It still hurts from that.  He said it should be feeling great today but no soap so far.  The guy does sports medicine for the big wigs but I don't think his treatment worked on the first shot.  he says they try 2 injections and if that doesn't work, they do and incision which is a couple of centimeters long. 

I hope the shots work, I really don't want to wind up with a gimpy hand because of some cut. 

they slice and dice you to open the sleeve so the tendon moves freely...but, the real issue is to get rid of the cause of the swelling.  Your doctor is treating the swelling, not the root cause.

Been through that too