Are you ready for MIDI 2.0?

Phil O'Keefe

It's here... but don't expect new hardware for the actual MIDI interface or anything - this is really more about evolution of the spec, not a complete redo of everything, and best of all, it's all designed to remain compatible with previous MIDI devices, although of course they might not be able to do everything that more modern MIDI 2.0 compliant products can do. 

What kinds of things CAN you do with MIDI 2.0? Take a look at this page for some ideas... 

https://www.midi.org/articles-old/details-about-midi-2-0-midi-ci-profiles-and-property-exchange

• 2 months later...
  • Members

I have a question, and I didn't want to unearth up a Zombie thread to ask in.

How do I go about learning MIDI? I mean, literally for somebody who doesn't know anything at all about MIDI.

I am a drummer. I've had, and toyed with electric drums going back to the mid-80's, but I  always used the internal sounds in the modules. I have all sorts of MIDI gear now (3 ddrum4 modules, a brand new MOTU 8x8 MIDI Interface, about 4 "midiK.I.T.I." Trigger to MIDI interfaces, and a brand new PC with Mixcraft Pro Studio 7 software which has lots of sounds.) 
as well as  about 20 HART Mesh head electric drum pads, and a ddrum 4 drumkit.

I kept buying all this gear and it is so new to me (I'm 51) and I know nothing about MIDI and it is like I am terrifiedto hook it up and dive into it because I don't have a clue what I am doing or where to begin. I bought The MIDI Manual : A Practical Guide to MIDI in the Project Studio (Audio Engineering Society Presents) 3rd Edition by David Miles Huber.