Shadowfax419

PC software that plays songs but allows muting specific instruments

Hello All,  newbie here. I was at a function where a guy was playing guitar along with music that accompanied him. He was able to play specific songs from his laptop while muting specific parts of said song. He then played the appropriate muted part and sang with the song. My wife seems to think, after hearing me play for years by myself, that this setup would be great for the occasional open mic and get togethers we go to. I've researched but haven't been able to find such a setup. Anyone have any ideas the best way to do this. I'm pretty accomplished, but no one seems interested in jamming or getting a group together, so I guess I'm stuck with me, myself and I. Thanks in advance, and I've learned tons about performing just perusing all of everyone's questions and comments.

Welcome to the Solo and Duo forum! :wave:

What you witnessed is what we call 'playing to tracks', and yes, there is software out there, we even have a few folks around here who will create custom tracks for you. There are a number of our regulars [traffic is slow here, but eventually someone wanders in, answers a question, wanders out] who play to tracks, both here in the US, and abroad, so someone should be able to get you on the right path forward. This is not something I am involved in, so I will leave this to those more qualified....

If the tracks are recorded separately on a DAW it's possible to mute one or more tracks. (that's a big if)

The open source Audacity can do that, again if the tracks are separate.

I have a friend who does that. He contracts musicians for his gigs, and mutes what he wants and plays what he doesn't have for the gig. He uses Audacity but I don't know where he gets his tracks.

Notes