Sound man etiquette

• Members

So we went to see a friends band play last night, and the young sound man whom I have worked with before was having some issues with the sound. It was a bit muddy and lacked vocal clarity. Well, my wife and at least two other people (who know I am a sound man) kept asking me to step in and help him.

I told them that if he asked for my help, I would help him. But until he asked, I wasn't going to just step in and start fixing things or even offer suggestions to him. My boss was also there and he wouldn't either. Eventually the sound man did approach my boss and asked for his opinion and for help. So by the second sets start the PA was tuned much better and the mix was much improved.

Anyone else get prodded by friends to fix a mix for a sound man who isn't doing such a good job? If so, how do you handle it?

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I'm no good at mixing yet, but I CAN tell when someone's mix is off. But even if I was a pro I don't think I'd even mention it unless the guy was obviously stressed and feedback was clearing the bar out... even in that case its iffy.

I mean... I know how to grill a hamburger, but I wouldn't step behind the counter at a restaurant to show someone when to flip the patty.

Maybe a round about way to drop the hint would be to walk up and say... "hey man, I run sound, if you need any help or just want to take a break to get a beer I can watch over the mix for you." As friendly as possible.

• Members

Not my business.

If the band sucks I don't jump on their stage and start playing their instruments, and I don't go into the kitchen and start making myself a sammich when I don't like the service at a restaurant.

• Members