Got to check out an SAC mixer

• Members

Strangly enough, this guy was using it via a split, to record (SAC is the live use version of the SAW DAW (was that redundant? :-)).

I was impressed. Granted the guy was a dealer for turn key systems so his rig was setup & tweaked properly (nice to have a 22" multi point touch screen). Over all though it looked REALLY intuitive and controlable (GUI is EVERYTHING in SR). It would have been nicer if the guy (dealer) would have shut up and just let me check it out (one of those folks that :blah::blah::blah: WAY too much), but I liked the gear none the less.

If in the next few years these prove to be reliable (important point here), They could easily become some serious competition for the LS9 & the Aviom systems (and possibly some higher end boards) due to their greater flexability and price point.

Nice stuff.

• Members

I've been looking at this system for my group.

1. I'm a computer guy by trade and figure I can solve any computer issues myself.

2. I have most of the necessary hardware already.

3. I want 7 stereo IEM mixes. Nothing else can offer this in the price point. Even the A&H monitor board can only do 6 stereo.

4. Eliminate the snake and the FOH position. These systems will let you control the FOH on a laptop, wirelessly. My soundman can sit at a table in the house and mix.

Certainly not a pool for the uninitiated to dive into, but this IS the future of live production. Not just audio, but lighting, video, and backing tracks. All from a laptop somewhere in the house. Imagine putting on a show with arena production values in a bar? This is where it starts.

I have the demo and hope to be running this system after the first of the year, at first folded into a more traditional MixWiz setup, but eventually the board will stay home.

• Members

Been wanting for awhile now.

1. up to 72 channels I/O in a 15 space rack

2. FOH, including all outboard, and drive costs less than m7cl alone.