Bass for beginner

tutu10

• Members

I'm a total noob looking to learn bass and trying to figure out what guitar to get.

On one hand I don't want to spend too much, as I'm just a beginner... On the other hand, I don't want to buy a piece of junk (and would like something that would still be ok if I reach intermediate level).

Research has been a real headache...

I figured Squier would be respectable, but everyone seems to say to steer clear of the affinity basses.

I hear mixed things about ibanez.

Yamaha seems mostly positive.

I also hear some good things about Harley Benton, but not sure whether that's because they are actually good or just surprisingly un-junky for the price.

Looked at second hand guitars, but they seem almost as expensive as buying new.

Really appreciate your recommendations.

Thank you.

• Moderators

Welcome to the madness that is being a musician. In order to better assist you, could you tell us a few things...like your budget, do you have an amp, how tall you are [will help point you to long or short scale basses], where you are located...

Not knowing where you have already looked, I suggest you check e-Bay and Reverb.com for used instruments. Since you are starting out, I will only suggest 4 string basses, and pending your responses, I will advise you to research and understand basic terms like action, round wound vs flat wound strings, active vs passive electronics, maple vs rosewood fret board...

• Members