Would PA speakers work for...?

• Members

...hooking up to my TV? I am a college student and I have an 'old' tube tv for my dorm, but I also have two Yamaha s115mt's sitting in my basement at home. I couldn't find any pics or specs for these online, but they are speaker cabs with 1 15", 1 6" and 1 horn, and two ports at the bottom. The only input it has on the back is a speakon, but I figure I can get adapters to take care of that. I don't have any sort of a head unit or anything for my tv, and really it would just be movies and xbox being played through them. Would these work? Or would there be no power to them or something (don't really know what I'm asking here)? I figured I would post here since I thought it would be more help than finding some "home theater" forum. Any help would be much appreciated guys. Thanks!

• Members

Old TV's, if is really is an all tube TV, use an internal speaker and small power amp for the audio. There isn't outputs to run a pre amp signal out to another power amp. And there is not enough wattage to drive those Yamaha speakers. While in theory, you could find the audio signal, wire in an output and plug that into a power amp to power those speakers, in reality, it would just not be worth it. If it were actually a somewhat newer cathode ray tube ( CRT ) and has an audio output in the back, you could then run a cable from that to a power amp that could power the speakers. Even then, I doubt they would sound that great because they're designed for sound re-enforcement, rather than moderate music playback.