How to record a live band?

• Members

How to record a live band?

I am new at recording a live band. I have a matched pair of Octavi mc-12 small condenser microphones, An Audix -5 microphone dynamic microphone and a large diaphgram Studio Project C-1 microphone in my mike cabinet. Do I have enough mics to make a decent live recording of a band who plays classic rock? I will be a recording a singer who plays electric guitar, another electric guitarist, a bass player and a drummer at bar thru the bars pa system. What cables and extras do I need? What cables do you use from the Pa system out to the Korg 3200? Where do I place the microphones? Do I just let the Korg record a 45 minute set. Then stop the machine when the band takes a break. And push record when the band starts the second set.

I always hear how live recordings sound great thru the board. Can I set the Korg to record thru the board? My only experience recording is using a matched pair of Oktavi mc-12s overheads on a drum and then overdubbing electric and acoustic guitars and vocals . Never recorded a live band playing in the room. Should I first just record their band rehearsal to get some experience, then maybe later after recording a rehearsal and getting to know the band better record them at the bar.

I barely know the guitar player. I only been to one of their gigs.This was last week. I know the guitar player because I went over to his apartment 6 years ago with my guitar and jammed. I worked with him at a job 6 years ago. But had not seen him for six years till I saw him at a music shop. I don't know the rest of the band but got introduced to the singer last week.