Controlling Analog Synths e.g. Minitaur, Behringer Model D, Minilogue, etc. with Midi-Equipped Guitar or Bass

• Members

I am a complete Noob when it comes to midi and synths....... I currently own a few of them - Behringer Model D, Volca Keys, Volca Beats. Using an Arturia Keystep as my controller. I want to buy more! Probably a Dreadbox Hades and a Minilogue. And a Minitaur and a Korg MS-20.

My primary instruments are bass and guitar, and I'm not the most savvy with keys.

I would like to bridge my love of guitars with my newfound interest in synths...

Been looking at the Roland midi pickups and the Willcox Saber Bass Hexfx series.

I would love to be able to plug a midi-capable bass or guitar into any of my synths and jam away.

Been trying to do some research on Youtube and simply do not find people doing this.... which if it's possible to do, why isn't it more popular? And if it's not possible, how come a midi signal from a guitar would be incompatible with a Behringer Model D or any other synth with a midi-in port?

With the Roland GK pickups, you only see people plugging them into Roland synth modules. Are they compatible with other synthesizers - specifically analog?

Does anyone here have experience with what I'm describing above? Tips or tricks?

If it is possible, what would be an ideal equipment setup to get it going?

Thanks for the help!

Yes, it's possible to use a guitar synth controller with the synths you mentioned, but there are several caveats - first of all, the controller (or its associated control unit / synth) needs to have a MIDI output jack on it and needs to transmit MIDI in real time. You can't just plug straight out from a Roland compatible guitar with a GK-2 in it straight into a MIDI synth.

Secondly, you have to remember that you're talking (for the most part) about mono synths - you won't be able to play chords - only single note lines.