Ok, which one should I get - Samson CO1 or AT2020?

• Members

Based on some advice I got here, I plan on purchasing two condenser mics in the next day or so, partly for use in an upcoming gig, and for some other projects.

Primary use:

1. Live sound - specifically, micing a Big Band as a whole (as suggested to me in an earlier thread) chorus-style.

2. General live use with acoustic instruments (guitar, harp, flute, etc.)

3. Occasional recording both of live bands and home recording.

The two that seem to stand out and are in my budget are the Samson CO1 and the Audio Technica AT2020.

I was wondering, in your opinion and experience, which of these two would you prefer and why? Are the other options in this price range (~$100) that you might recommend?

Thanks!

• Members

Disclaimer: I have no first-hand experience with either of these mics.

A while back I was heavily researching drum overheads and I ran across an article that mentioned about AT2020's being very natural sounding. I also remember coming across a thread that said that the Samson's sound was decent SDC's but their build quality was questionable.

I have clips of people using both of these mics - though they are used as drum overheads. If you'd like, PM me your e-mail and I can send the mp3 clips to you.

• Members

I don't know where your are doing your research but here's a few live Audio Technica users.

Daughtry

Taylor Swift

R&R Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

The Grammy's

CMA Awards

Winter Olympics

Metallica

Train

Etc.

Maybe so, but are they using the 2020? I doubt it...

• Members