Keyboard AMP Vs. PA

• Members

Hi folks. Any Advice rendered on this subject will be gratefully accepted :)

I am an electronic musician who likes to play live from time to time. I always end up using the house PA but I'm thinking of getting my own live sound set up. I am interested in using a keyboard amp or PA but I'm leaning towards a keyboard amp, a stereo roland KC 880. it's the flaggship model so I don't think I will be disapointed.

However, I will be playing noisey ambience, drum beats, ect and also finished tracks from laptop from time to time. Will a keyboard amp be able to play the complexity of sounds I inevitably will be using or is a PA a wiser choice?

I don't want to blow out the keyboard amp. I know they are more designed for single tones, but I want the color and portability of the roland. A PA is larger and more setup involved.

I haven't looked into PAs much but my main focus is on a stereo keyboard amp, IE roland KC880 or a Hartke, or a Traynor.

Lemme know what you're thinking,

-J

• Members

You might not be super happy with the keyboard amp in the long run. It isn't the "complexity of sounds", it is just the bass volume levels and, more importantly, the form factor.

Are you mixing within your rig and sending out a stereo signal?

I would be looking for a powered speaker, preferably one with a matching sub.

• Members

I use a mixer and probably would send that to the amp as a stereo signal, along with possibly a mic. So you think it might be disapointing in regards to bass volume? I was thinking it would be good for smaller spaces like house parties, and also as a monitor on stage if need be. Still figuring in factors... I was happy performing on a Mackie powered PA system a while back. Hmmmmm...

A set of powered mackie Thump PA speakers would be cheaper than the Roland...

• Members