I want to learn about music/sound - advice on what steps to take ?

• Members

hey, I want to learn more about running sound/mixing/eqing rooms/recording and music in general. Was wondering what courses or education or what path to take.

I have practical experience but limited knowledge imo.

Ive been playing live gigs for over 10 years, Im 34 now. Im a lead singer/guitarist in a 3 piece. I own the PA and lights and have been mixing from onstage. Im decent on guitar and vox/harmonies. I know enough about music theory to improvise solos etc. Have a good ear and learn songs/harmonies quickly by ear.

Ive read alot on here over the years so I have an idea about stuff in general but want to learn more. I havent done much recrding but can sequence good midi tracks.

What do I do next? Like courses or study or what??:confused:

any advice?

• Members

Having a good musical ear is pretty much IMO the first step. and being a musician is right up there with it. you know how you want something to sound. as far as eqing rooms. every room is different and built different. you mainly just have to use your ears for what sounds best in that particular room. a good way to start would be to run your EQ sliders In the middle ( Flat) and then fine tune it in with your ears. I would just stay on here and listen to these guy's there are years of wisdom on here to learn from. and mainly just get your knowledge from your experience. :) Hope this helps ya.

• Members

The amount of possible stuff to learn is infinite, ranging from how to construct an ELCO connector to how to deal with a crappy bass player to how to setup a speaker processor.

As other folks suggest, learning is a lot easier if you have a project or at least a goal of some kind.

Do you want to become an install contractor? Do you want to go on tour as A2? Do you want to be a local sound provider for bands?