Should I buy this Peavey PA stuff?...amp suggestions also welcome:)

• Members

I am looking for a PA for my 5-piece band and also to DJ. Mostly weddings and parties and stuff...maybe outdoor stuff ocassionally, but nothing super loud.

There's a guy selling 2 Peavey SP4 mains with 2 matching Peavey 1x18 subs. He says they are all from the late 90's. He said he would take $750 for all of it. But I might be able to get him even lower. Here are the pictures.

IMG00469-20110416-1234.jpg

IMG00467-20110416-1228.jpg

Is this a good deal? Are these decent speakers?

While I have some expert attention, I'd love amp suggestions for this setup too. I guess I'd need a crossover as well? Sorry I'm a newb.

• Members

I would say late 80's earlly 90s. I owned that style SP-4 in 1990. They are heavy... $600 would be a better deal.

what did you think of them? how different would they be from the modern SP-4s?

• Members

what did you think of them? how different would they be from the modern SP-4s?

I had then when I was starting out. Kind of the bigger the more bad ass mentality. I don't know much about the newer SP line other then they are still pretty heavy and they have speakons now. I would image there would of been improvements on drivers in the last 20 years.

The best thing about Peavey are you can rebuild on the spot and the replacements are affordable.

• Members

If in good shape, they'd probably suffice. As mentioned though, VERY heavy and just all around awkward. You'll need help to move them anywhere and obviously will need a vehicle capable of transporting it all. If you're cash strapped though it may be worth the shortcomings, especially if you're just basically messing around. If you're actually doing professional wedding gigs for real money though I'd recommend something more practical, particularly for the DJ gigs where I'm guessing you'd be flying solo. Loading all that into a downtown hotel ballroom is going to suck.

• Members