Boss Katana 50 vs Orange Crush 35RT for home use/band practice/small gigs?

diajkeene

• Members

I am a freshman in high school, not a pro musician. I might play small school events (open mics) and small venues in the near future. I play mostly blues, classic rock and some modern rock. I use a drive pedal and a delay pedal for my tone, but not very expensive ones (Digitech/Joyo brands). Which of these would you recommend? If not one of these, what other amp (capping out at $275) would you recommend?

• Members

So long as you mic into a PA, you'll be fine with the Orange Crush.But a lot of Small Venues don't have a decent PA, so IMO, you're going to want something a little larger. With that budget, you can find a 120W Peavey Vypyr 2x12 or Fender Champion 100w, either of which are more than capable gigging amps.

• Members

I have an Orange 35LDX, the precursor to the one you mention, and I also have a Roland Cube 80, which is sort of a forerunner of the Boss Katana series. (Roland and Boss brand names are under the same company).

The Orange amps have a bit of "their own thing" to the sound. I find that my Orange has surprisingly beautiful clean tones with very deep digital reverb, but I prefer using an OD pedal for drive to get a "classic rock" over-driven tone. The over drive sound on the Orange is a bit more metal/crunchy/fizzy than I like, but it does take pedals well.

I got my Roland Cube on a blowout deal, cost me $220 after a rebate. I bought that one after I already had the Orange because the Orange had a limited amount of bass handling capability before it would get to sounding too woofy and I'd have to reduce the bass and/or output level. The Boss Cube 80 can take pedals that add bass to a higher output level than the Orange before hitting flubby distortions. It's more capable of jamming with a band without being mic'd.