• Members

Hey, I am doing sound for a living/Hobby, and i was wondering if any of you guys that done this for a living ever have any off time, time from event to event, like a month of so off.I do about 1 to 3 events a month and i have august off , last year i had a couple of months off and it just drives me nuts:facepalm:. do any of you guys go throught the down time?

• Members

If I have more than one weekend off I feel like no one wants to hire me anymore. I question everything about my work. Then I start working again and I pray for a weekend off. I think I already went nuts.

I do agree with Coaster. If I have more than one weekend off, I begin to re-rack, re-wire, test and wash cables, sort work boxes, clean truss, clean light optics, vacuum the rat fur cabinets and wash the painted cabs, re-program light shows, clean drawers, re-calibrate everything, replace labels, clean mic's, wash the truck/trailer, and it never ends. If I took off a year, I couldn't complete everything I really want to do to the system. The last time I had everything like I really wanted it at the time was when I started the company and spent 6 months before I started booking shows getting everything together and making the system work for the first time.

• Members

yeah , but how long does anyone have off between gigs. I enjoy my time off to a point , but then i get the Itch to get out there and do it again. My off times are usually july and aug. but i have a candidate speaking this weekend , where i am going to use the arena's gear.instead of mine. ( it was their idea) i am just along for the ride.LOL maybe that will be the scratch on the itch that i have. LOL

• Members

Time off, what the heck is that? From a 40-50 hour week at my day job to running sound between 1 and 3 times a week - Summer is usually my busy season. I turned down a show on Friday the 29th just to have a day off.

• Members