Bose L1 vs Conventional PA for Acoustic Solo/Duos

stratmansblues

• Members

I am a singing guitarist that is struggling with live sound. I have used the Bose L1 systems (model 2, compact) in the past, but in a few venues I had a hard time hearing myself over a loud crowd. I play mostly in restaurants and bars.

I am currently using a pair of QSC K10 powered speakers and an Allen & Heath Zed10fx. I haven't really been in love with this setup since I got it. I usually bring one speaker out to gigs and it set up offset behind me on a stand. I've been considering putting the speaker in front of me and setting up a monitor to improve my monitoring and FOH volume. I feel like I am already bringing too much gear to shows where I have to set up in a corner.

I have been reading about the various line array type systems on the market lately and keep coming back to the Bose. Also I live in between Knoxville and Nashville and it seems like every acoustic group is using a Bose setup. Looking for advice to help me decide if I should expand my current setup or sell it and buy another Bose.

• Moderators

Although I am no a fan of Bose, I do agree that a line array is the best solution for a singer/guitarist. If you're not using backing tracks, may I suggest looking into the Fishman A330 [the new 'Fish-stick'], or a used one? I have been using the SA 220 for a number of years for solo work, and for the price, ease of set-up/transport and features, I think it is great bang for the buck compared to the Bose Compact. I will admit that I add a near-field powered monitor to my setup if I expect the room to be noisy [i don't like being blasted from behind]. There is a myraid of new arrays available, but most are cumbersome and have a subwoofer unit...which if you don't use tracks, you won't miss. The main drawback to the SA220/330 is the footprint of the tripod stand, but that is a small compromise.

• Members