Headphones: High-end Audio Technica or low-end Grado Labs?

144dB

• Members

Hey all,

I've been using Audio Technica ATH-M40fs headphones for 15+ years, and for ~70 bucks, they were hard to beat. They have a balanced sound that I didn't find in competitors, and a pretty good bottom end. The closed cell foam coating flakes off after a few years (leaving black specks on your clothes), but that's the worst I can say about them.

My birthday is coming up and my wife is asking for ideas, and I thought perhaps it's time to upgrade. For the ~$300 budget I have, I could get a pair of top flight Audio Technicas (ATH-R70x or ATH-M70x), or a pair of low-end Grados (SR325e). It would be a real stretch to get up to a Grado RS2e or PS500e ($500 to $600).

Any thoughts?

Grados tend to be open back, and since I'm not a singer, drummer, or acoustic guitar player, that's not a problem. I almost always use headphones except for final mixing or critical listening, and my main instrument is keyboards. I also use headphones for audio editing, etc.

Initially I thought I would have to buy them sight unseen, but I actually found a place locally that has Grados. Guitar Center might have the high-end A/Ts.

Any insight is appreciated.

• Members

I bought the ATH-M40f set about 10 years ago - actually three sets, one for me, one for each kid. Yes, the price was great and I still listen to them a lot - they are a living room set for when anyone wants to listen but it's not a good time to make noise in the house. They have a really long cord, so you can sit/lie anywhere in the room and they will reach the source.

I'd keep them as a reference set in any event. They are very non-fatiguing and have a big, soft sort of sound, a pillowy feel, great for symphonies and movie music. You can replace the covers when they start to flake - I think I'm on my third set of covers.