What's all the DSP rocket science?

• Members

I keep reading over and over about how great powered speakers are for the neophyte, since there's a lot of magic already done and you just need to hook up your mixer and go. I've been hanging around here for a few years now, and the amount of magic I'm aware of in a typical club system is pretty small and might only be dealt with once, so I'm all ears as to what I'm missing. Here's what's required for a passive system, to my knowledge -

1) you must buy an amp or amps to match your speakers, being aware of the effect of daisy chaining on impedance and amp channel output. This isn't that difficult and is essentially dealt with in the buying process.

2) assuming you're running subs, you need a crossover in the system. Many of the MI amps have this built in now. Set it once, and if you always set up the same way, the only magic involves running the speaker wires from the proper channel to the tops or subs.

3) there should be a high pass filter in the system. Many eqs and standalone crossovers have this feature, as well as some amps. Again, set it once and leave it that way forever.

4) eq - a big subject. Active speakers need no eq for the box, while a passive can probably benefit from it. Again, the box doesn't change and you will probably eq to the room anyways, so I'm not sure there's a big benefit here.

5) clip limiters - probably built in to the actives, available on some power amps where it would be set once and left for life. Amps with internal crossovers usually don't have limiters or high pass filters, but many folks have run without them for years without blowing things up.

6) bi-amping the top boxes. A feature of all the quality active speakers, but not possible on all passives and a bit of hassle if you choose to do so, often debatable as to how much benefit is achieved.