GFS RedActive Golds....and ModBoards

hellion_213

• Members

Anyone ever tried these? I'm thinking of trying these out. A whole set of RedActive Golds goes for about the same price as one EMG, so I'm not really expecting the same performance, but from what I've read in reviews, they seem to be pretty good. Just wondering if anyone's had any actual experience with them. I'm looking at two Buckers and a Single.

And on a second note, what about their ModBoards? I kind of like the idea of an onboard wah. I have no practical experience wiring onboard effects, but I checked out a few of these online, and they don't seem that difficult, when wired as a retro, but I'm thinking of installing the ModBoard with the redActives, and would like to only have one 9v route to contend with, so the big question here is - would it be better to run two leads from the 9v? Or split off at the Board? Switch? somewhere else? The input jack is the on/off for the pickups, and a switch or push/pull pot for the board, it would most likely make more sense to have the jack route power to the board as well in case the switch or pot (can't decide which way to go, I kind of think a switch for on/off would be easier to hit on the fly) was left on......?

http://www.guitarfetish.com/REDactiv...ups_c_591.html

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Onboard-...Kit_p_573.html

And lastly, it's hard to tell from the pic how big these are. Knowing the rough size of the components, I'm figuring about 1.5"x2"?

• Members

For power for the board & PUs, I'd do what you suggest & run power to the jack first: you'll never need the effect when the guitar isn't plugged in. As for switch or pot to turn on the effect, if the guitar has a cheap, easily replaced scratchplate then I'd drill & use a switch, but if the guitar has a back-routed cavity and wood top then I'd use a push-pull, or maybe a push-push type. With mods like this, it's always good to make them as reversible as possible.

• Members