Rolls PM55 Headphone Amp Question

• Members

I just purchased a Rolls PM55 for use as my monitoring while playing drums. I have a question, as I have never used one before. We have a Presonus Studio Live 16.4.2 Could I use a Subgroup for the drums and send that signal to the Mic in for my mix (nothing going to Mic thru) and then use an Aux send in the Monitor in for everyone else?

• Members

Yes, BUT here's the catch, you are going to need a Limiter inline between the Mixer and the Headphone amp.

Rolls makes a program limiter that sells for around $60. That is all you need.

The reason is - if a mic gets dropped or kicked over - when it hits the ground, that thump could cause a volume spike that would damage your hearing.

(I use a Rolls 6-channel headphone amp for the same thing, and I use a dbx 166xl for the limiting.)

• Members

Yes, BUT here's the catch, you are going to need a Limiter inline between the Mixer and the Headphone amp.

Rolls makes a program limiter that sells for around $60. That is all you need.

The reason is - if a mic gets dropped or kicked over - when it hits the ground, that thump could cause a volume spike that would damage your hearing.

(I use a Rolls 6-channel headphone amp for the same thing, and I use a dbx 166xl for the limiting.)

Ok, great. I supposed I could just use another Aux send instead of a Sub Group if I have an extra. The Presonus has an onboard limiter that can be applied to the Aux and Subgroup sends. Thanks for the help. Anything else I should be thinking about?

• Members

... you are going to need a Limiter inline between the Mixer and the Headphone amp.

Yes, but the limiter will only help you if you can set it correctly. The question is how do you set your limiter to give you a specific max spl level in your headphones?

• Members

Yes, but the limiter will only help you if you can set it correctly. The question is how do you set your limiter to give you a specific max spl level in your headphones?