Fender Mediums vs. Dunlop Mediums....

steve_man

• Members

Okay, I've been using Fender Medium picks for over 20 years. I've tried others, but always seem to gravitate back to the Fenders. I actually really like the "confetti" color, as it's easy to see if you drop it on stage, etc. Plus, they just look cool.

A few months ago, I grabbed a pack quickly at a shop and didn't look at the label. Turns out that Dunlop makes the very same style/color of picks. Not a big deal, so I started using them. Oddly enough, I found that the Dunlops seem to last longer and hold their edge better than the Fenders. I know they're just picks, but I'm not crazy about how quickly the Fenders break down. Anybody else noticed this difference?

5203634d8f9a0a9af0928c98e047422f.jpg.d1a79e0ce7767ddb5e2bb7cee2cff585.jpg

9758ca899060bfb95b2cdc56319b113c.jpg.2b4b994609d77a0c5cca6f80274d958f.jpg

• Members

Well, for what it's worth, I quit using such large plectra a long time ago and now only use so-called "jazz picks." The main reason was that I found that a plectrum larger than a jazz pick simply gets in the way.

Dunlop has a nice lineup of jazz flat picks, including the Eric Johnson Classic Jazz III.

413FIPGLxVL._SY300_.jpg

http://www.jimdunlop.com/product/eric-johnson-classic-jazz-iii

http://www.jimdunlop.com/products/guitar-picks#jazz-picks

• Members

I actually went the opposite way last time. I saw that old Woodstock video awhile back and saw Alvin Lee using the larger triangle picks while ripping it up on his ES 335 playing Going Home. I was actually quite surprised but it made sense after buying some.