Help me Decide!!!

burton4snow

• Members

Bogner will likely have a better resale price, but to be truthful, spending 1000+ on amps rated 3W or even 18W is ridiculously high priced for any amp when you consider the components to build them cost maybe $200 tops. I can do "Way" better buying some cool vintage amp myself, but I'm a tech who can repair and refurbish anything I buy. Its your money so you'll have to make the call.

• Members

Here is a little more info about what I am looking for. I play mostly blues, blues rock and a little punk (old school and modern) and Hard Rock Zep, AC/DC, Aerosmith, ZZTop etc. A sound I Am really looking for an amp to do good is that edge of breakup sound. Reviews have said the Bogner does that well that and that's why I am interested in it. The other gain channels are just icing on the cake. But if the Raleigh does that and does better than the Bogner then I will probable go for that. Also I want articulation on the gain channel instead of it being muddy. I know they seem like different amps but they both seem like they would get me in the spectrum of sound I'm looking for.

• Members
Bogner will likely have a better resale price' date=' but to be truthful, spending 1000+ on amps rated 3W or even 18W is ridiculously high priced for any amp when you consider the components to build them cost maybe $200 tops. I can do "Way" better buying some cool vintage amp myself, but I'm a tech who can repair and refurbish anything I buy. Its your money so you'll have to make the call.[/quote']

My ears are not so good anymore so I'm need something low volume but I also want good tone. I have tried lower price amps, Tweaker, Blackstar, Peavey Mini s etc. but nothing sounds great just OK. What would you suggest?

• Members

Unless you're using the same pickups and guitar as the guys in those videos, you wont get the same tones they do so you have to take that into consideration when you judge amps on video's like that.