Tube amp harsh buzz/humm

• Members

I have a carven valve master 100 tube head with a small daisy chain of pedals (in line from guitar to the amp). I'm getting a humming/buzzing noise. It is very slight/non existent on the clean channel but very loud on the gain channel. If I hit a kill switch or a volume pedal to off I still get the noise (it does change the tone of the noise slightly though). When I walk around with the guitar the tone and the volume of the noise changes. Same situation for all different guitars and cables. New preamp tubes. Noise is there with or without the daisy chain. It fades away when I play (or at least it's not noticeable to my ear.

I just want the sound to go away when I'm not playing on the gain channel our when I hit a kill switch.

Could this be a grounding issue? Maybe it is an issue with my cables and I only have bad cables to work with.

Any thoughts? Similar situations?

Thanks on advance :)

• Members

He said hes tried different guitars and without the pedals. I would try it in a different building. maybe flouresant lighting or a dimmer switch is the cause. have had this problem in certain venues.

• Members

I've been struggling with a similar problem with my 1961 Ampeg Reverberocket. I switched cords, guitars, then amps and had the same hum in my other amps! The I discovered if I shut the Ampeg off the hum in my 1964 Fender Concert reduced, and if I unplugged the Ampeg the hum disappeared from the Concert. I also have a Fender Pro Junior which has a bit of hum regardless of whether it has a guitar plugged in or anything else. The Ampeg hums a bit on its own, but more so when I plug my Gibson SG into it. My single coil guitar doesn't really seem to aggravate it.

I replicated the experiment last night, and the SG causes hum in the Concert when the Ampeg is plugged in to the wall, more when the Ampeg is turned on.

Weird.

• Members

Could be the main cap, could be the power supply section, esp the power supply transformer