nickel vs. nickel-wrapped strings

ry1633

• Members

hi all,

I've been playing for over 30 years and always used some kind of nickel-wrapped steel strings on my electrics. I've never considered pure nickel strings before but am thinking of it now. How are pure nickel strings different/better than nickel-wrapped steel? Better tone, longer life? My two electrics have fairly different woods and pickups. Just wondering if I should make the switch or not? Pure nickel strings aren't too much more expensive. Currently I use Ernie Ball 10-46 nickel-wrapped Slinkys (lime green pkg). -Ry

• Members

You might like them allot. The main item is the strings wear less on the frets.

Tone wise some say the wrapped strings sound warmer/darker sounding. The unwrapped are plain steel so those three strings don't change much to the strings you use now. Its just the wrapped strings that are different.

I think they sound fairly bright when new. They darken in tone a little as they age but not that much. The results will vary depending on your pickups but what I notice is slightly less output and clearer rounded tones on my guitars. I especially like them on my Semi Hollow body guitars. They will gain up nicely. You just need to crank the gain a little more.

The drawbacks are, the strings notch at the frets quickly if you bend strings allot. The nickel also begins to stink as they tarnish. Acids from the hands tends to accelerate this so keeping the strings clean is a little more important.

Other then that, I don't usually find them that much more expensive. The gauges I use are maybe a half dollar more for the pure nickel in the brands I buy. It just depends on what's on sale at the time. Ernie Balls Pure nickel are very well balanced. D'Addario, GHS, Safarzo, and SIT also make well balanced sets. You may find them a little stiffer then what you're used to in the beginning but you get used to it quickly.