Drop c tuning 4 string, which size strings are best

customdrum

• Members

Total newbie to bass guitar but not to guitars in general and have 2 bass's now and Im looking to drop tune to c tuning or cgcf on one of the bass's and not sure which string size works the best.

Heres a list of strings I would assume would be used for drop c tunings

ernie ball 2831 = 55, 75, 90, 110

dr ddt55 = 55, 75, 95,115

dunlop 55115 heavy core = 55 ,75, 95, 115

dr ddt50= 50,70,90,110

D'Addario EXL160BT = 50, 67, 90, 120

I would think the daddario 120 would not fit on my bass without some nut filing which i dont really want to do unless i have to. not even sure it would go through the bridges hole lol

• Members

For C G C F, the 4th string will be two full tones lower than normal. The 5th or B string on a 5-string is typically a 0.130. To retain the same tension a semitone higher, you'd need to reduce the diameter of the string by roughly 6% or down to about 0.123 or so. You don't want the 4th string to be too floppy so figure on at least a 0.115 if not a 0.120. Personally, of the strings you listed, I'd lean toward the d'Addarios based on gauge alone but the Dunlops would probably work. If you're concerned about the strings fitting, take your bass in and have it set up for the heavier strings. Shops that routinely work on basses will have the necessary tools to get it in shape. They'll also need to intonate the bass properly for the heavier strings.

• Members

thre is only 1 music store here and they want 50.00 to install a guitar nut, needless to say they wont get my money.

I was leaning towards the daddarios at 1st but worried ill have to file the nut for 4th and 3rd string but if it has to be done it has to be done.

• Members

Anything below D on the low E gets really wonky on my basses using normal strings. You get too loose and the string twangs sharp and bends sharp at the frets too easily making it especially difficult to produce decent tones.