How to get a Vst to work with Reaper

• Members

Hi, I am new here and I am a beginner at recording. I am having trouble getting the studiodevil to work in reaper. I am not sure it works right out of reaper. I can not find the option to fix latency. I use a lexicon alpha. I mainly use Reaper for recording ideas and sending it to my band mates. I had some free Guitar Rig once but it crapped out me.

So I am searching for a good guitar Vst with a good over driven tube sound and or fuzz.

To summarize my short term goal is just to be able to send some song ideas to my bandmates and long term one is to get some drum program like E-Z drummer and make my own recordings playing all instruments(home studio). I'm not rich so I don't want to spend much money.

Any help will be much appreciated, as I have already spent weeks researching and combing the internet for answers.

Thanks,

Rob

• Members

You have to remember you're not dealing with analog effects. The signal takes time being sampled and converted to digital, processed by the software/CPU, then sent back to the interface where its converted back to analog so it can be heard.

Latency is a normally a hardware issue. Its caused by a slow processing speed of the digital data stream. When you route your signal through an interface you have two choices. Passing it straight through and listen to the unprocessed signal gives you a Zero latency signal.

The signal can also be converted to digital, routed through the computer, through a plugin where resampling and number crunching occurs, and back to the interface where its converted back to analog so you can hear it. This is called the processed signal.

Normally you don't listen to the processed signal when tracking. You set the interface mix knob for zero latency and play along to a previously recorded track. If you pan the knob to processed, you hear the time lag it takes for the signal to be processed and converted back to analog.