Now What!?!

• Members

Well.....after 35 years I'm finally band-less. Last week I pulled the plug on the Country band I've been trying to get going for over a year; and I quit the pop/dance band I've been playing with for the past 5 years.

I made the mistake of getting too many people from the dance band involved with my country band. We had a successful end of 2014 and had 17 gigs on the books for this year. Last week, a week before our first gig of the season, I had the drummer and female vox (who are the husband and wife team that also run the dance band) tell me she was going to leave the band because of too many commitments. The drummer's job is taking him to So. Cal every other week leaving him no time to rehearse. 3 weeks ago I had my multi-inst. guy quit because of a new job. It has been a struggle to get the line up nailed down. I've been through 3 drummers, 3 bass players and 2 male vocalists. The band sounded great and we had all of the right pieces. But, I got so frustrated after hearing I was going to need to replace at least 2 people on the eve of run of gigs. I thought about it and realized I just don't have the time or the patience to deal with this. It was also becoming painfully clear that the dance band was going to be the priority for these people and had been asked to cancel 2 gigs in favor of booking the dance band for more money. The more I thought about all of this, the more I realized it's time for me to move on.