Yamaha FG-110 red label nippon gakki ?????

mississippijohn

• Members

Hi to all,

this is my first time on Harmony Central so I'm not 100% on what to do, so hear goes.

I recently took delivery of a old Yamaha FG-110 red label nippon gakki,

( that's what it says on the label )

the only numbers that I can see on the guitar are 1029631 viewed through the sound hole printed on a block underneath the fret board as it it joins the body.

I purchased the guitar on the understanding that it was a true nippon gakki 1971, but since reading different forums I'm not to sure.

I have read that most serial numbers have eight digits not seven like mine.

so my questions are.

1 - does the serial number correspond with the red label sticker.

2 - does the serial number 1029631 correspond with the manufacture year of 1971.

3 - is the body solid woods or laminate, and of what type of woods

4 - all six machine pegs are worn and do not keep in tune ( I have tighten them but has made no difference, ( 2 x strips - triple pegs per strip ) any advice of replacement pegs

5 - any history at all with these guitars would be great.

6 - it has a star in a circle front top of the head-stock, and the cover plate over the

truss rod has a star in a circle with Yamaha printed beneath the circle.

7 - any idea of today's prices - I think I may have paid a bit over for the top for this one.

I have put new strings on the guitar 12 - 53 D'Addario phosphor bronze EJ16-3D

( are these the best strings for this guitar )?

it has a low action and does have a good tonal sound and is loud.

any feed back at all would be appreciated.

regards

m/j

• Members

John, first let me welcome you to HCAG. While I don't have experience with that particular model, I might be able to help with some of your questions. I own a FG-150 that I bought new in 1969 and still play today.