Good deal on EV SXA250

• Members
Quote Originally Posted by J.Paul View Post
This the day after I made a comparable purchase for a lesser speaker.

ah yes...Murphy is alive and well
...it's the Law isn't it?
eek.gif
Return them,,,, or sell them. You really don't want to let a deal like this slip by. These are truly excellent loudspeakers, and at this price, it's just a fantastic deal. If I didn't already own 18 active PA boxes, I'd be all over this deal in a heartbeat. In fact, I'm going to call them to see if they'd deliver a pair here in Quebec. These boxes were selling for close to $1100. each, here in Quebec.

• Members

Quote Originally Posted by voicemaster

View Post

Is this speaker better than Mackie SRM350?

I have no direct experience with the Mackie, but I've heard them sound harsh when pushed. The EV SxA250 is VERY smooth sounding 15"box, with clarity and intelligibility that rivals a lot of the good 12" boxes out there. The SxA250 is a plywood box (7-ply), yet it only weighs 49 lbs. I think they're a heckuva loudspeaker, especially at that price.

• Members

I already ordered a pair of these =). My church was using Mackie SRM350 for the mains, but we currently changed that with Meyer CQ1 which is sound much much...better than the Mackie of course. So, now I am trying to set a separate system for on the road gear like retreat and other events where we rent a building/room. So I hope this EV SxA250 can cover a larger area and not sounding as harsh as the Mackies when pushed a bit harder.

• Members