DTar Solstice Preamp

• Members

It's time to give credit where credit is due.  I really feel this preamp has not gotten the exposure and the accolades it deserves.

From the designers based in Santa Barbara, California, DTar, a partner/subsidiary of Seymour Duncan, comes one of the most sonically wonderful preamp/mixers I have ever played through.  

I am a guitar player, but I have heard great things about using this preamp with other instruments such as violins, violas, cellos, stand up basses and others.  If you have a just one pickup of just about any design, or, a combination of pickups, I would recommend you try this preamp/mixer out.

My experience; I have been playing guitar since I was about 9 years old. I am semi-retired now.  I don't play "professionally" in the comercial sense, but music is a huge part of what I do in life.  I play pretty much one or two days a week in front of small to larger groups.  I also do some recording.

I have an acoustic guitar with an older Fishman system in it. The guitar is a rosewood with spruce top of an older '98 custom Taylor design.  The pickup configuration is a combination of a Crown microphone set hovering in the sound hole, and a Piezo pickup set under the saddle. Fishman, at least at one time, provided one or more of these type pickups to Martain.  I did not want to cut a hole in the side of the guitar to mount the Fishman preamp, so I opted to use a stereo out jack and run the two signals into a Fishman outboard preamp/mixer.  It is "ok" but nothing stellar in terms of tone. I still keep it in the case for when I can't bring the Solstice with me, but I sure miss the Solstice when I don't have it! I wanted to explore other preamp/mixer options.  I looked at several options out there and came across this unit.