Power amp question.

• Members

Hello every one,

I'm a drummer and usually hang out in the drum forum, but I've escaped from there, and I have a question for all the live sound guys on here.

My question comes from a conversation I had with a friend of mine about using a power amp to drive speakers, where the power amp is to "big" for the speaker ratings.  I realize that this situation is going to damage the speakers, that's not the question. 

My friend said that he runs the amp at about 50% so that will save his speakers.  To give an example of the situation I'm talking about for lets say that some one is using a 1000W/channel power amp into speakers that have a 500W (program) rating.  In this situation you only turn up the amp halfway, which would decrease the power sent to speakers. 

Is this arrangement/assumption accurate?  It make sense on a logical level, but I'm not sure that it would be true in reality. 

This is probably a stupid question, but being a drummer I don't generally deal with these sorts of things, and it peaked my interest to find out more. 

Thanks in advance. 

• Members

You will find lots of threads here on this subject. In short, you cannot "turn down" an amp. The controls are actually to set the sensitivity of the amp. Regardless of that setting, a strong enough input signal will still deliver full power the amp is capable of. With proper restraint, pro audio folks regularly use larger amps than you would suspect, but they do it with skill, careful operation and a knowlege that sometimes things just happen. Unless your friend is either lucky or skilled, he will eventually have an "uh oh" moment with a large repair bill following.