I admit, I like this product..

• Members

The fender passport. Many times I've used them because of where I worked for the past 8 years. I'm a pro, 30 years experience, lots of equipment. But, I admit, I like the Passport; easy, small, quick, sounds good. Used one yesterday for a talking head banquet thing. I don't own one but if one of the smaller 4 channel units came up used at a good price, I would buy it.

• Members

Convenient yes, but I've never been a fan of their sound (the ones I've heard anyway). Maybe it was the users, but they seemed to lack those sweeter highs or deeper lows. Very middy, which I guess makes them OK for vocal applications, but personally I much prefer the Yamaha Stagepas where sound quality is concerned.

Al

• Members

I only had one experience playing through a Passport, a few years ago when I sat in with a band playing a contradance. I didn't provide the system, but I was able to adjust the EQ to make the best of a bad situation (poor room acoustics, under-powered rig). The speakers had a mid-range emphasis, like Al said, without much going on in the highs and lows. Probably better for ultra low budget reinforcement of a speaker at a podium than for a band.

I wouldn't recommend it, when you could get one decent powered speaker and a compact passive mixer for about the same price, then add another speaker when finances permit.

• Members

Encouraged my previous employer to pick one up for public address at smaller neighborhood and community events... was a P-250 and IIRC was like new and only $250 used with a pair of stands and did exactly what we needed. Had a problem once with the grill coming loose, but was an easy fix. Good to have around for when the need arises. EDIT: This was all before the proliferation of cheap powered speakers with basic input mixers built into them... that's what I use these days.

• Members