Newbie needs some keyboard advice !

• Members

First of all, I am new to keyboards. I have been playing guitar for 17 years, but have never even learned how to use a drum machine. I'll probably ask some pretty basic questions here because I am confused.

I would really like to get a keyboard or some type of sequencer so I can start putting some songs together. I would like to lay down some beats, etc. Here is the deal...... a friend of mine is really good at rapping and writing lyrics. he has been after me to make some music for him to rap over. I just can't swing it with my guitar alone. The other day he brought me a CD of a few songs he made with his other friend. His friend created the entire songs with a Korg Trition (unsure which model). It sounded amazing. he had nice rhythm beats with layers of keyboards and all kinds of cool sounds going on. It was perfect.

This is exactly what I want to do, but I don't know where to start. I am not even sure what a sequencer is or how it works. I have basically $1,000 to spend, but not much more. The Korg Triton LE goes for $999 and I can get a "B Stock" one from Music123.com for $799. But I am not sure if this is what I need. I also heard the Korg Electribe units are good for this type of thing. I can play some keyboards, so I would rather a keyboard, but am open to suggestions. I don't need anything sick a$$, so if there is a lower cost solution, I am all ears. Maybe a cheaper keyboard that will allow me to also lay down some nice beats.

Also, I will not be using this strictly for hip hop. I enjoy all types of music from rock to techno.

Thanks for any advice!! ---------Joe

• Members

Prefers the Triton LE out of the Triton series. Better sound set & cost of brigin the others up to that level is too much when added to bsic cost of the other tritons.