sorta OT: lyrics/profanity songwriting opinions?

• Members

So I have a site where people can download stuff and the other day this peripheral friend (friend's ex-girlfriend) went there and, apparently, got all {censored}ing offended because there was too much "obscenity and profanity" in one of the songs!

I thought about it, and there is about maybe 30-35 admittedly 4-letter kinda words and references to illegal family-love kinda stuff. But, dammit, the song is about a guy whose girlfriend chose some other guy, and he's all pissed off!

I mean, i started playing guitar and so forth in thrash/punk bands in the late 80s and early 90s..i just never thought about offending people by using profanity..insulting their religion or country or something else-yeah..

I dunno, i was just wondering in general what everyone else feels about this fairly unimportant issue that i suddenly find myself caring about..if only a little.

is it important to you (not regarding radioplay or whatever--they can beep it) to watch your language?

Do you think it retracts from the song?

Do you think you have a "duty" to be honest about yourself and have lyrics that sound "real" (this only counts if you have a foul mouth)?

thanks for any opinions on this, i promise to respect yours even if you completely disagree.

• Members

The solution in this overly sensitive world with a complete loss of 'common sense' is simple - add a disclaimer "might contain vulgar language, parental blah blah". Those who want to listen aren't bothered by it, those who aren't allowed to listen will click definately, and those who whine have been warned, so they can't really complain.

I don't get how people 'get offended' by it in the first place. "Wow, that bad man says fornication under consent of the king, abbreviated! I feel violated! My ears should avoid this stuff at all cost!".