Best way to carry 88-note weighted keyboard?

Rainboy UK

• Members

Hi all.

I was wondering how all you folks carry your stage pianos around.

Carrying them in soft gig bags in one hand / on one shoulder is a real strain, does anybody have any ingenious solutions?

For example, I wonder if there exists (or it would be possible to design) a backpack, as for the Electro 73, as this could presumably spread the load over the body more effectively.

Or do people use hard cases with wheels and find that easier to manage?

Kind regards,

Mark.

PS Reason for asking: I was about to buy the Electro 73, but I reckon I have been swayed to hold out for the Stage by the prospect of a better piano sound and action (I am primarily a jazz pianist, not an organist) - but it brings a transport issue, particularly as I don't own a car!

• Members

Kinda depends on how much you travel with your gear. I gig quite a bit and load-ins often include freight elevators, long hallways, tight quarters, etc. I would never take any keyboard on the road without a hard case. It really protects the keyboard and gives me peace of mind.

As for the 88 note beast, wheels are a must and if you get ergonomically placed handles for when you do need to pick it up, this makes all the difference in the world. I never really understood the notion of a single handle centered on a road case that has a 50+ lb keyboard in it. The combined weight of the case and the keyboard could be pushing close to 100 lbs and to put that much strain on one arm and one handle is just not good. I had my case custom built to include 2 handles and this makes it SO MUCH EASIER to pick up and balance the weight.

Here is a photo of my two gig keyboard cases. You can see the double handle and wheels. This case was made for my RD600 several years ago and my S90 also fits into it nicely.

cases.JPG

Regards,

Eric

• Members

Eric: