Major barre chords with root on A string?

• Members

I've been playing guitar for a few years, and I'm finding one type of chord that constantly gives me some problems, and that's the major barre chord with root on the A., for example the B barre..

E -2-

B -4-

G -4-

D -4-

A -2-

E -x-

How should I finger the 3 notes of the 4th fret? Currently I use my ring finger on the D and G string, and my pinky on the B. But this still feels kind of ackward.. and also I find the note on the high E doesn't always ring quite right.

Anyone care to give some pointers on playing these better?

• Members

I use my ring finger across the 4th fret. I've never been able to voice the high E string. If I need the high E, I'll shape the chord by forming an A major shape with my middle, ring and pinky fingers and placing my index finger on the high E fret.

It's either/or with me, but I generally only use that barre shape as a passing chord.

• Members

I use my ring finger across all three at the 4th, and it takes work to get the high E to ring. I'd say I get it 70% of the time, though when I do I tend to lose the root on the A string as my finger tip seems to ride up onto the 5th fret. Hey, that's what the bass player is for, right?

• Members

I have what's probably a 'bad habit' when playing these chords -- I typically barre my index across all 6 strings. So sometimes, when playing a D at the 5th fret, it actually sounds as D/A. Fortunately, for most of the music I play, this works okay.

As for the other notes in the chord, I fret those all using a barred ring finger.

• Members
Originally posted by ManiacManos

Is this a trick question?
:confused:
I mean... it's kind of obvious, right?

Middle finger on D string

Ring on G string

Little finger on B string

And you'd be buggered if you wanted to add higher extensions to the chord...