My picking hand sucks...

MikeyE

• Members

Hi, everyone.

So, a little background... I've been playing guitar since August 2003. I would say I am decent. I can play some OK stuff.

But I am having a problem with my technique: my picking hand! I just feel like I am doing something wrong. Like, my palm maybe isn't positioned correctly on the bridge... and I have too much of an angle on the low E and A strings (which may have to do with me feeling like my hand isn't positioned correctly). I THINK I am holding the pick correctly (flat part of my thumb, side of my index). But I can feel the side of my thumb slightly touch the strings sometimes.

The last problem I am having is string-noise. I think it's a combination of left and right hand technique.

Can anyone give me some tips/advice? If I HAVE to, I will see about getting a DVD and/or book.

Thanks!

- MikeyE

• Members

If you're having problems on the low strings, maybe you're not moving your hand up far enough on the bridge when you're playing on those strings? Look at how your hand is positioned in relationship to the strings when you're on the high strings. You need to move it up so it's in the same position in relation to the strings when you're playing on the low ones. Your hand needs to very smoothly move up and down the bridge as you go from the low strings to the high strings, and vice-versa. It takes a little getting used to so that you are only lightly resting your hand on the bridge (allowing it to move easily), and not really planting your hand on the bridge with a lot of force, making it difficult to move. When you're playing something difficult, it's easy to tense up, but you have to keep your muscles relaxed.

• Members

Picking in not as simple as it seems and you've got lot's

of company having trouble with it. :)

I'd recommend you try and practice without allowing

ANY part of your hand resting on the guitar. It's

pretty important to learn control with a floating arm.