Why is sweeping down so hard????

• Members

I swear, I've been practicing this for like, 5 months and havent got any better. Theres just something in my brain that wont do this. I can sweep up just fine, notes are clean and sound alright, but when I try and go back down with it, its like my hand falls apart and all I get are ugly ass dead notes. My brain and hands just wont do it. If I slow it down I can do it, but I think its because when I slow it down I'm kinda just picking them by instinct instead of sweeping them. I know practice is the key but damn, this {censored} aint workin :mad::cry:

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I swear, I've been practicing this for like, 5 months and havent got any better. Theres just something in my brain that wont do this. I can sweep up just fine, notes are clean and sound alright, but when I try and go back down with it, its like my hand falls apart and all I get are ugly ass dead notes. My brain and hands just wont do it. If I slow it down I can do it, but I think its because when I slow it down I'm kinda just picking them by instinct instead of sweeping them. I know practice is the key but damn, this {censored} aint workin
:mad::cry:

How about a thinner pick? It should be easier then, i guess.

• Members

First off, ignore your right hand for now, its only an aterthought to good sweeping. The best way to practice any sweeps is to get your left hand doing what you want first. Do the standard 5 string Eminor sweep

E||--19-15----------------------------15-19-||

B||--------17----------------------17-------||

G||-----------16----------------16----------||

D||--------------17----------17-------------||

A||-----------------19-14-19----------------||

E||-----------------------------------------||