If Floyd Rose sucks, then is there any alternatives?

• Members

Hi guys, I'm quite a newbie here.

I've been told numerous times that Floyd Rose trem are a bitch to deal with in terms of ease of adjustment. I've never play around with them, but still curious IF there is any alternative to the current system. In this age of technology, there should have already been hundreds of innovations to solve this!

I'd love to try them myself, but are discouraged by these tales of frustrations.

any thoughts?

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

If you want to use a whammy bar for extreme pitch changes, I really believe that the best in terms of tuning stability are an Original Floyd Rose, the Schaller Floyd Rose and the Ibanez Edge Pro. I am not aware of any new bridges that are radically different to these types. For less extreme usage, the PRS trems are really good as is a correctly set up Fender.

I have or have had guitars with all of these plus various floyd rose copies, and also various Kahler models which are a whole different feel. The FR copies I think vary in quality tremendously from average to really poor. The Kahler stays in tune fine, is easier to adjust but I didn't like the tone, you might like it though!

Overall, Floyd Rose type floating trems do take a bit of adjustment, but it's not that bad. One thing that really helps is to stabilise the bridge when you change strings..I do this by sticking a coaster (or business cards) to keep the bridge fixed, it makes string changes and intonation really easy.

Once the strings are stretched and you're in tune, lock it down and it will NOT go out of tune.

• Members