Help please - new and can't reach chords

• Members

I've only just begun playing a few weeks ago and am working on finger strength and building up pads, etc. but the lesson program I'm working with is introducing C and G chords and I just can't seem to reach them?

Is this common with beginners or am I digit-challenged?

David.

• Members

Yeah man, its harder than it looks, but it get's a lot easier.

Do you have a teacher? Your hand could be in slightly the wrong place around the neck which will make it difficult to reach.

I've got little girly hands, so when I started playing I used Em-Am to practice the basics, not as much of a finger stretch. Once you get Am under control its only a little change to get the C chord.

• Members

Absolutely common... I struggled with barre chords when I started playing the guitar. The F Major and Bb major chords were killers.. : )

Don;t worry too much, your fingers will need time to adjust themselves to the new skill you are picking up.

If you need some tips, here are some in which helped me overcome holding chords when I started playing the guitar.

Learning Open Guitar Chords

Learning Barre Chords

• Members

After you learn your C and G chords, the next big step will be learning to switch between them instantly. Here's a cut-and-paste bit of advice for that step.

Try the "ghost chord practice technique".

The concept is that in order to switch chords quickly enough to be useful, you need to be able to plant all your fingers down
simultaneously
on each new chord you move to.

In practice, form your hand into the chord shape in the air right above the strings without touching the strings at all. A 'ghost chord'. Get it as close as possible - maybe one millimeter away. Hold it in that shape for about 5 seconds, then lay all your fingers on the strings simultaneously. Without making any adjustments, play the strings one at a time and listen to determine if the chord is cleanly fingered. If not, make adjustments.