How to drill basic music theory into complete beginners?

• Members

This is stumping me really badly, as usually I'd simply sit down with my music theory book and simply learn it the hard way. I have also been decently musically minded so music theory isn't a massive scary thing to deal with.

But now I'm teaching a class of complete beginners, many of whom have never picked up a musical instrument in their lives.

I'm trying to keep the emphasis mostly on playing, but I'm still wanting to teach the absolute bare bones such as the difference between major and minor keys. Problem is that I've never taught anyone who is at this very basic level before. I have the additional problem in that I'm teaching a group of students of whom many play instruments I don't.

So, what's the best thing to do?

• Members

I'm curious about this one too...!

First I'd teach them to read and count basic rhythms in simple meter

Then I'd get a keyboard and show them how the octave is divided in twelve, and how these divisions are the building blocks of music... what a scale is, what a chord is, half steps and whole steps, &c.

Next I'd dissect the staff, talk about note names, accidentals, time signatures and key signatures

Finally (and so soon!) I'd hit a wall

What've you done so far?

• Members

I'm curious about this one too...!

First I'd teach them to read and count basic rhythms in simple meter

Then I'd get a keyboard and show them how the octave is divided in twelve, and how these divisions are the building blocks of music... what a scale is, what a chord is, half steps and whole steps, &c.

Next I'd dissect the staff, talk about note names, accidentals, time signatures and key signatures

Finally (and so soon!) I'd hit a wall

What've you done so far?

I havent done anything yet as the group has just been started this week.