Just beginning to learn how to play acoustic guitar

kkarl

• Members

I am not experienced in playing the guitar. You could just call me a beginner. However, I'm having a hard time figuring out different ways to begin learning. How do you start? Is it best to take guitar lessons? Well, if you can't exactly take guitar lessons then what is your next option? How do you progress after learning the the basics? 

• Members

kkarl wrote:

I am not experienced in playing the guitar. You could just call me a beginner. However, I'm having a hard time figuring out different ways to begin learning. How do you start? Is it best to take guitar lessons? Well, if you can't exactly take guitar lessons then what is your next option? How do you progress after learning the the basics? 

Yes.

• Members

hi kkarl;

welcome to hell!

nah, it's all good fun..well it can be frustrating too.

To some extent, guitar is a lot like other skills -- some structured instruction mixed with experimentation mixed with just doing it mixed with interacting with other people interested in it can all be part of the progress.

Yes, I would STRONGLY suggest some lessons to at least get you started in the right direction.

Barring that, there is the instructional video route these days -- I'd suggest the video route for the very verybasics so you can see some basic pointers. on mechanics...how to hold the guitar picking/plucking the strings and how to hold the strings down with your fingers; all that good stuff.

From there you will learn some conceptual stuff -- where some of the notes are to play some basic melodies.
then you will probably learn some chords (groups of notes played more-or-less together making a single big "sound" -- when you se people strumming all the strings and holding down more than one string, that's what thy are doing)

As you start working on that more conceptual stuff, method books can also be a big pat of that.