Mesa owner frustrated

sourgrout

• Members

I hope this is the right spot for this thread.... I've been playing boogie stuff for about 4 years and need some help refining my sound. Heres my set up:

Guitar: Schecter C-1 elite(jb type pu)

Strings: Ernie ball power slinky (10's)

Tuning: Std. dropped one whole step (D)

Effects: Boss chorus pedal before preamp

Amp: Boogie DC-10 2x12 combo open back

speakers: (black shadow)

Very simple setup so far...

My issue is the sound is way to muddy, and I'm getting frustrated about what I should do to fix it. I play in a band and we play heavy hard rock and I need a thick heavy distortion but without the loose sound. I have played the amp through a 4x12 boogie cab and it sounded great but still was alittle grainy with too much mid range. Ive tried every type of setting on the distortion channel possible but its a no go. THe tubes are a year old so they should still be ok.

At this point I considering these options any input would be awesome:

1) Anderson H-2 pickup for bridge

2) 2x12 closed back with v30's

3) v30's in the combo itself

4) commpression pedal

5) fx processor(dunno what kind)

I do keep the lead channel controls at respectable levels bass around 5, mids around 3.5, treble around 5.5, presence 4.5, gain around 7.5

Please any suggestions would be killer, Ive been playing for several years and I am ashamed that I still dont have this {censored} figured out. Oh you can go to www.secondafter.com and listen to some of our tracks to get a feel of what were trying to do and my current sound.

Thanks

• Members

I think it's the Mesa that you've got as opposed to a problem with the settings you are using. I've always thought of the DC series amps as voiced a little more toward classic sounds which are midrange heavy. The Recto series stuff seems more suited to a more modern sound with more scooped sounding mids and tighter sounding dirt...

• Members

Originally posted by TigerInATrance