OT: I need some advice with school

krazeexharhar

• Members

So right now I'm a third year bio student at UCSD...thinking about premed....the current situation si that I have a 2.9 GPA but i brought it up from a 2.4 in two years with no C's last year..

Anyway, this quarter's been going to the {censored}ter for me and I've had a rollercoaster ride emotionally and stresswise due to personal reasons and such...but I haven't been studying as much as I did last year and I come to a point where I'm thinking I should drop a class. I have 3 classes right now, two psych classes and metabolic biochem (I was thinking of doing a double psych major so I was trying out the classes). I'm doing kind of bad in all of them...I'm got a 53/100 on the biochem midterm (the mean was a 66) and so far fo rthe psych classes I got C's on the midterms (I'm not too worried though for them since it's easy to recover...psych101 there's still two midterms left + extra credit, and psych60 the first midterm wasn't really worth a lot of points).

My main question is, should I drop the biochem class and retake it next quarter? I have two W's on my transcript as of right now, so it would add a third. I'm really behind in this class. I talked to academic advising but they weren't much help. And should I drop my psych major and do a minor instead? Because I heard med schools don't even care about nonscience classes. I'm really taking it so that I could stay 5 years to space out my bio classes which are pretty tough.

I know I'm gona get a lot of people saying that I won't make it ot med school and such cuz my GPA is too low and stuff, but honestly, this is what I"m going to stick with so I need to try to make this work.

So this is a dilemma I"m faced with at the moment.

• Members

I wound up having to take an extra year of undergrad to fill in a minor at the last minute, which gave me time to re-take several classes and improve my GPA tremendously. So that's always an option.