Why is it so important that you like builders as a person?

• Members

I've read heaps of times where folks here have said "[iNSERT NAME HERE] is a great guy! I wouldn't hesitate buying pedals of him!" But why is it so important to you all that the builder's a "great guy"? After all, you're not trying to date him -you're buying a pedal.

I personally couldn't care less what the builders are like as a person. You exchange money for goods and you're on your merry way.

Anyway, if I was a builder who actually cared about my "internet reputation"...I'd just have an official username to pour on the syrup with and an alias to troll with. :D

• Members

Originally posted by jonny guitar

if you ever have a problem with a pedal it is nice to know that the guy is a standup guy and will treat you right instead of telling you to {censored} yourself

*raises glass*

• Members

it basically ties into the "service" aspect of the transaction.

when a vendor is personable, it makes the purchase more enjoyable.

i thought this was common sense.

i wouldn't buy a pedal from an asshole.

• Members

It's not as if pedal problems are so complex that you'll be stranded for life without the original builder's help. Most pedal failures are caused by mechanical things like detatched wires or a bad switch...and these can be fixed by anyone with a soldering iron.

• Members

Originally posted by State 6000

It's not as if pedal problems are so complex that you'll be stranded for life without the original builder's help. Most pedal failures are caused by mechanical things like detatched wires or a bad switch...and these can be fixed by anyone with a soldering iron.

what about the 90% of guitarist that don't own one?

• Members

Take it to a music store's repair guy?

Will a music store guy fix the pedal, mod another pedal for free for the inconveniance, and enclose crisp $ bills to cover the cost of the freight to return it. That is customer service.:wave:

• Members