guns n roses tone. what distortion pedal is right?

hhsuey

• Members

hey, i'm new to pedals. bear with me :D

i want to emulate the sound of slash in november rain and sweet child of mine.

what distortion pedal do you recommend?

i don't have any distortion pedals yet. and my only amp is a roland microcube.

someone recommended the boss metal zone to me before. what do you think? any other suggestions?

• Members

i got a really good SWCO'M tone from a Jekyll and Hyde.

Had the Jekyll set to boost the hyde a little and warm it up and the Hyde set for about 65% drive.

Didnt sound too bad.

Other than, i'd check out getting a good marshall-y type pedal.

MI Audio crunchbox, Kaden Brown Creeper, etc.

I know slash uses an MXR micro amp for boost as well.

• Members

who goes around recommending a MT? That seems very odd.

I use the DS-1 for sweet child tone with excellent results, that is probably the best idea for you also because it is cheap and it will be your first dist pedal. Put the tone control around 9 o clock and dist to taste.

For november rain, maybe an OD pedal maxed out. It is a bit sweeter sounding tone to my ears. Be my guess, a bad monkey maybe, not too sure.

Further more, the amp

also Vintage 30's Celestion speakers are very Slashy. Again I think you need a closed back the least but try the above.

• Members

Slash is pretty much just LP into Marshall - awesome, but not complicated. cf. Angus Young, Billy Duffy, etc etc...

DS-1 really will cover a lot of Slash territory, and I agree with fusionid that a good OD will get you the rest. Actually, varying combinations of OD and amp dirt (e.g. medium-gain into clean amp, clean boost into crunchy amp, high gain into dirty amp, etc.) will probably get you everything you need.

• Members