Which MIDI Controller Do You Recommend?

undo

• Members

Hi, this is my debut in Harmony Central User Forums :wave:

I'm about to buy a MIDI Controller for the first time, and I need some experts' orientation during the purchasing process, indeed. First, will I have to buy additional equipment, or is completing my MIDI controller just with some softwares enough? I've used digital pianos and synthesizers up till now, and I'm very new to the MIDI controller market. In short, I've listed these models after my search, and now I would appreciate if you make some recommendations among these ones:

*M-Audio Axiom 61

*M-Audio Oxygen 61

*M-Audio Radium 61

*Edirol PCR-M80

*E-Mu Xboard 61

*Novation ReMOTE 61 LE

*Korg Blem K-61

• Members

I was pleasantly surprised with the action on my E-mu Xboard 25 which I bought to test out my rack gear after shipping.

Regardless, I still advise finding an interesting older real synth with a decent keybed and perhaps some interesting sounds and then use that. I have picked up an AN1x for the purpose at the moment, hopefully soon to be expanded with some others.

Having said that, also having the X-board on the side is really useful.

B>

• Members

I'm delighted with your great feedback, first of all. I think many users are not ok with virtually all M-Audio models. Due to your suggestions, I will focus on ReMOTE and Xboard. By the way, have Roland and Korg failed about presenting their MIDI controllers perfectly? Why don't I see hot-prospect controller models from these vanguards? Again, thank you very much for your kind and helpful approach.

• Members

Opinions vary on aftertouch. As a rule, now that cheap relatively nice controllers are coming with it, you're almost certainly going to regret not having it a little way down the track.

X-board does, as will any half-decent synth you buy to use as a controller. :)

B>

• Members